1 Huge, Overlooked Job Search Tip

I landed my current job through somewhat of a fluke. I was applying and applying and applying and applying. I was getting very few, if any, responses. So, of course, my nights of Craigslist searching paid off and I found an advertisement that was not only legitimate, but right up my alley. So, I compose a nice email and attach my résumé. I wait. And I wait. And I begin to think that my misuse of the word “its” in my email for this writing position was coming back to haunt me in the form of “Forget you!”

And then one night (actually around 2 AM), I get an email asking if I was still interested in the position. WHAT?! I immediately begin to panic. Did I miss something? Are they confused? Are they weird and have a strange way of responding to applicants’ emails?

Then, I decide to look in my junk folder.

BOOM.

There it is. An email. From a week before asking about a phone interview. Had this employer not been nice enough to send me another email, I would have completely missed the opportunity. And now the job is mine.

So, I’ve strung you along, but I’ll put the tip in big bold, red letters in case you don’t feel like reading everything else.

DON’T FORGET TO CHECK YOUR SPAM/JUNK FOLDER WHILE YOU ARE JOB SEARCHING! THOSE FILTERS MIGHT BE A LITTLE TOO STRONG AND YOU MIGHT MISS SOMETHING GOOD!

So, here is my monthly blog. I haven’t been blogging as much because I have to do it at work. And I really want to resist the urge to think about SEO and marketing for this one. It’s just for fun.

Ciao

Leave a Reply

