My So-Called Digital Life

In my pursuit of employment and pretty much any sort of opportunity for personal/professional growth, I began to dive head first into various social media platforms. It was my understanding that in order to prove that one is truly in touch with what it means to be a informed global citizen, one must show a continual effort to maintain a digital life. In other words, you have to show that you are all over the web if you are applying for jobs that involve some sort of online work (i.e., almost every job today). I tried to create my own brand online through coordinated twitter posts, blogs, LinkedIn updates, etc. I wanted to show that I have tried and that I understand what it means to have a digital life today, even if no one sees any of it.

Now this is where I feel like I am wasting my time. Why spend time and effort trying to prove that you have some sort of online following if you don’t? This could come to back to bite me, but I really feel like maintaining your digital persona can be exhausting. I suppose, in some way, that is the whole point. Show persistence! Learn SEO! Learn how to engage with online audiences! Create something that people want to consume!

It feels so forced. That isn’t to say that I don’t feel like I have something to offer or that I find social networking useless. Quite the contrary, actually. I have a lot of interesting things to say, but I haven’t yet found the medium that suits me best. As far as social networking is concerned, I am quite bothered with it, but I understand its place in the large scheme of things. I suppose the rub is when it comes to an audience. Once one finds an audience, maintenance is easier. At least then you don’t feel like you are doing something just for the sake of doing it.

So, I suppose the big lesson of all this ranting is that it is pointless to prove you have some sort of social media presence if you really don’t. I guess I have tried to backtrack and make up for lost time.

You gotta start somewhere, I guess…

Leave a Reply

